top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

WIP Screenings

*muffled screaming*


So I have my WIP screening video:



I'm feeling much better than I was last week. I think I was feeling overwhelmed because the editing was not matching what I wanted, but once I was able to actually identify what it was that I wanted to fix we fell into a better groove. My editor is great about utilizing my critiques and my developer was able to do a lot of work on tweaking video footage. I also like what's happening with the music, I think it really enhances the experience and ties the story together.


There's still a lot that needs to be changed, but judging by the work flow and speed that has been established, I'm confident we will have a polished project by the end of this.


I'm also still struggling through Unity and our asset packages. I was able to get the Nature Manufacturer assets into the project. . . though I should have been more careful with my importing and NOT check "select all" when importing high poly mountains and 8k assets. . .


I have a lot of cleaning to do.


Also, Github hates me.


So does Crest's underwater shaders and the custom inspector UI that comes with Vegetation Studio.


I have a lot of panic discord posts to write.


It's not all bad! I spent a day adding debris to the forest scene!

I'm REALLY happy with how it's coming so far. I am so excited to show the Rockstar guys at our next meeting and get some more refined critique for it.


With that, I also did some render tests and added some ambient occlusion, anti-aliasing, and color grading and post processing shadows to mess with the exposer and contrast.

I did not bake the indirect lighting data, so I think that will make it look even nicer. I'm so excited!!!!!! Now I just need to figure out tree painting. . .


We'll see if I survive WIP screenings. The professors were really aggressive last night, so I'm worried. Thankfully we have a group chat between all the 3D students and we do real time commentary on what critiques were actually helpful and then we joke about the ones that weren't to soften the blow. I don't know what we would have done if this was in person, zoom makes it way more fun and interactive.


I mean, I know what I would do.


I would probably stress cry. . .


I'll see you next week! Or not!!!!! :)


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page