top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

I Left my Apartment for the First Time in 10 Days

So knowing that the forest level is now a portfolio piece, I have decided to spend more time on it. Do I have the time to spare to be studying ferns and redoing my terrain again?


No.


Am I still going to do it?


Yes

Of course not.


I have not gone outside for more than 15 minutes in a hot minute, and I've been pulling late shifts every night for the past couple weeks. So, keeping my poor relationship with productivity in mind, I decided to visit Beechwood State Park over the weekend to get some reference pictures and a better idea of what a Beechwood forest is like.


It was a little. . . brown. But I got a lot of great reference photos and was able to familiarize myself with how an actual campground looks. Probably shouldn't have worked without reference to start, so we've learned a lot this weekend.


Some path reference:


Woods debris:


Apparently there's an abandoned girl scout camp in this park, so it gave me some reference for the campsite part, especially the terrain textures:

Also I found some SIIICCCKKKKKK cliffs!! I feel like I have enough textures and assets to be able to pull this off, and I'm super excited to start. I just wish I wasn't so sick...


Speaking of debris. There were SO MANY STUMPS.

Like, a concerning amount.


It make sense now why Nature Manufacturer gave us so much debris and stumps to work with, the entire forest was littered with dead trees. Just in general, I found a lot of real life examples that matched almost perfectly with the assets I had in. In hindsight, duh, but it's really invigorated to see how much potential I have to work with.



Also, these are great references and everything, but I want my scene to look a little less brown, so I went on google reviews and stole other people's photos...

Just for reference. :)


As far as lighting, I've been working on the apartment and did a pass for all the physical lights in the scene. Still struggling with light baking.


Here's what it looks like without baking:


And then with baking:










3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page