top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

Untitled Cat Game!

It's that time of year! As snoverload comes to a close, Ardin Interactive is headed into our second mobile game: a sims-style casual management simulator about fostering and adopting out cats! I love cats! AND I love that I have a second artist on the team so I don't have to do everything in one semester. It amazing how having a partner to share the workload can reduce stress towards a project. But this is also already a fantastic project to work on because, you know, CATS!


The main art style inspiration is Two-Point Hospital. I love the bouncy animation and round, cartoonish assets, and that art style means I don't have to spend ages sculpting and texturing everything. Now I just need to figure out how gradients work in substance painter. . .


Two-Point Hospital example:


Here's a mock up I threw together for our design doc of what a room could look like. The textures are just flat for now, but this at least gives me something to show my team.



I already have a ton of cat item assets from my sophmore film (you know, the one where I modeled a bunch of cat toys and trees instead of actually doing any animation or rendering? *sigh* good times.)


I planned to have levels of litter boxes, water bowls, cat trees, etc. between lvl 1 and lvl 4. I demonstrated that here with the level 1 and level 4 litter boxes.



I don't know if I managed to get the two point hospital vibe. I feel like even though it's simple, it's still a hard style to get right. I have more assets but I'll upload them in another post because I'm tired. Go figure!


At the end of the semester I hope that we have a product to show Magic to maybe get into the Magic Maker Program, and something to kick start and show shelters and cat related brands to many sponsor us to finish the game. I won't expect anything to come of it, but I am very hopeful about this game and I look forward to working on it more! I've got a great team of people I've already worked on multiple games with and a really talented friend whose helping me out with the cat rig and animations.


After the otter rig fiasco, I'm SO ready to return to the cat rig I used sophomore year. I'm ashamed I ever complained about it, I hope it forgives me. . .


Here's to a great game and a great semester!


13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page