top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

Thesis, more like. . . help.

Just with my storyboards, I don't know where to start with this.


So I'm less stressed about the game now that I've got the full MVP and script written ('written' is a strong word, but there are words on a page that look like dialogue if you squint) and we're starting to fall into our rhythm as a team. ALSO HOLY GUACAMOLE, fiverr has voice actors. And someone has been working on fiverr recently and has the money already in her account to pay for them. I'm not close to even thinking about recording voice actors, but the fact that it's there has lifted so much stress off my shoulders. They even have composers, though I'd rather find a student who likes music to do that. We'll see.


Speaking of students, I started my TA job and I graded my first assignment. . . not that I haven't graded 150 chairs at this point. . . but we also set up a discord and it's really great! The students are really active and there are a lot of artists who do 2D work, so I cannot WAIT to turn them into texture artists.


Anyway.


Thesis.


My capstone advisor for the film and I have been talking a lot about what I'm going to do to fulfill the SOFA requirement. My plan was to just condense the game's story into a 3 minute film, but as we talked I realized that wasn't a great idea. I mean, it would probably be fine, but when have I ever done something that's not ridiculously hard and unmanageable? So now I'm going to use the same visuals from the game, (like clips of the environments,) and cut them into an "experimental" film.


I had never thought that I would do an experimental film. I'm not much of a visionary, nor a story teller (though my books would say otherwise. . .) so I'm really struggling to come up with anything that might even pass as a story. What makes an experimental film different than a bunch of stock footage edited together with music thrown on top of it? Stay tuned, hopefully I'll find out.


Honestly, I feel like a huge failure now that I'm faced with the challenge. I feel like my brain just doesn't work that way, and it's evident with the lack of storyboards I said I would do. On top of that, I can't draw. It's bad. And with that revelation comes the idea that I'm not going to be a strong 3D artist if I can't visualize things in 2D. At this point I'm just wasting my time drawing on storyboard templates, only to realize that they really suck and have to start again. I don't want to embarrass myself during Capstone Seminar, and I'm VERY worried about animatic night. I don't know how to put together a story I can't see with images I can't see, and it's frustrating.


I went into this so excited and now I don't even want to think about my thesis anymore. I feel lost, but I can't articulate why or what I need help with. I'm trying to keep my bar very low for this film and game, but I feel myself starting to hope that it's all going to work out, and that's what failed me during Otter Space. I need managed and realistic expectations, but I don't know what those are. I guess I'm just hoping to pass and get my degree at this point.


Here's an art stand I made after I had a breakdown about my thesis yesterday. Cheers



3 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page