top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

Set Dressing

I don't have much to report with my projects because I've spent SO long set dressing a house for my Game Design II class. Our game is called 'Backyard' but ironically I've spent days set dressing the inside of the house. It looks cool as heck, but I'll get back to you on whether it was worth it or not! The main focus of the game is the Backyard, but the player stays inside the house and has to solve puzzles by looking out the windows into the backyard and that unlocks doors and time periods in the main character's life.


Some of these are my models from previous projects, especially my sophmore film which had a lot of furniture, but the rest of it are assets I downloaded. BLESS anyone who uploads free assets to cgtrader, they're the real MVPs. The house is a weird mixture of really modern and old eclectic decorations and furniture, but I think I can get away with it because the story revolves around the character's childhood home and they are constantly changing time back and forth to complete the puzzles. Something, something, something, nostalgia, deeper meaning, dramatic metaphors, etc.


I also refuse to texture all of it and plan to use a blank white material instead. Realistically I cannot spend that much time on a class project with a bunch of models that aren't mine, but my excuse is that we want to leave room for the player to feel their own sense of nostalgia and fill in those blanks mentally and metaphorically. Or . . . something like that. I'm just the artist. . . The backyard will be full color and I plan to do most of the modeling for it, so I don't feel too guilty.


Set dressing is a lot harder than I expected and my interior design skills aren't very developed, but I play The Sims a lot! My favorite is the attic, but that was also the last thing I did so it's not the nicest type of clutter.










Now that this is done I'm hoping I can work on my other more important projects for the rest of the week, (sorry to my GDD II professor!) I think my goblin is at a place where I can be satisfied so I've moved on to messing around in Marvelous Designer for his loin cloth, aaaannnndddd . . . it's a learning process (haha.) It's been harder to find motivation to work during quarantine, even though I'm working for a lot longer than I would if I was still going to classes, but I think I'm starting to adapt to the new schedule. I've at least been able to keep up my blog post schedule for a WHOLE WEEK! Look at me go!



0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page