top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

Marvelous Designer, more like, Marvelous Disaster

With the turmoil that is plaguing (maybe not the right word. . . ) the world right now, Flipped Normals posted on their instagram that they had a sale on a tutorial to make a surgeon mask in Marvelous Designer. People are making masks everywhere and though it feels a little weird that they would advertise making masks in a 3D program when the world is desperate for real, homemade masks, I'm going to save the political analysis for a later time. It was a 5 dollar course that was taken down to 4 dollars, so of course I jumped at the opportunity.


I also switched focuses from my 3ds max course because Alex (my 3D boyfriend) was starting to design and model his thesis character; I wanted to see how difficult it would be to make dynamic clothing for his character (especially considering I'll have a first person controller so I don't have to worry about stuff like that, so I might as well help.)


HOLY CANNOLI, it was so hard. It took me two days for a 40 minute tutorial and now my arms and shoulders hurt. :,( But for most the first half, I was actually having a lot of fun. It was the constant adjusting trying to make it look good, only to mess it up to continue. I should have watched the video first, I think. Either way, I'm not anymore knowledgeable about Marvelous Designer and I feel a little like a wounded animal whenever I see the short cut on my desktop now, but it hasn't defeated me yet! But I think I want to go back to learning an easier program now; I'm sorry I ever insulted you 3ds Max, take me back!


This might honestly turn into a portfolio piece. Not a lot of people know how to use Marvelous Designer and I'm very lucky I have access to it, so even a rudimentary piece of clothing would probably be a great demonstration of my general skills. The tutorial was labeled as medium difficulty so maybe it's impressive, I have zero frame of reference.


Anyway, here is the finished product.



It doesn't look QUITE right, but it looks pretty good!!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page