top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

First Game Asset Creation Job??

I joined a team of students with MAGIC Spell Studio backing to create a mobile game over the summer. Along with another asset creation job, I don't have to work retail or food service this summer. There are the obviously reasons why that's fantastic, but it also means I'll have more time and energy for personal projects. It will be an interesting experience, and the idea of getting paid for something I am so excited to do is a weirdly adult feeling. I squeezed in a second freshman year when I changed over to animation, so jobs and careers and money are still vague concepts to me. I don't want to jinx myself, but I'm hoping to get a lot done this summer and learn more about the programs I already use and those I wish to use. I also have SO MUCH TIME to read! My amazon wishlist is a library of books on animation and video games and maya, I could spend hours going through a book on ZBrush.


The game is an infinity run where the player is a snowball and has to avoid obstacles and collect power-ups. Although it's a simple concept I feel like it distinguishes itself through the snow ball build up mechanic, and (fingers crossed) the art style will be an attention grabber that advertises a unique experience.


Here is my first planning sheet and a few rough - very rough - concept art ideas (it's a 4k image so the blank space is my work space currently). I'm not attached to the low poly art style, so we might be seeing a more advanced landscape later on. I have four seasons to work on, and because it's monetized I have to work on a single computer in the MAGIC Spell Studio building. This definitely isn't Cracker Barrel.



I'd also like to announce that I'm starting a religion and 'The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild--Creating a Champion' book is our bible. It details all the artistic decisions and processes of turning an already loved and established franchise into one of the greatest games in modern history (if you want to fight about that, meet me in the parking lot). The first concept art for the monsters and characters and machines were exactly what you would expect, they fit well into the game and stay true to the other Zelda titles.


AND THEN THEY COMPLETELY BLOW IT OUT OF THE WATER!!!!


I like to consider myself creative, but I have no idea how they managed to throw away an already great concept and replace it with something absolutely mind blowing!


"Yeah, the zora king should look like a bigger version of a zora."


"But what if we turned him into a whale and established a completely unique and unforgettable silhouette????"


I've never been able to say exactly where I want to end up in terms of my artistic skill, but hot damn I'd die happy if I could think so far out the box that I'd start to orbit around it. Ugh, so pretty!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page