top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

FANart

So there is a challenge out on Instagram called the #sixfanart challenge where illustrators and artists draw six characters from TV shows/movies/books in their own style. I desperately wanted to participate, but I don't draw 2D art anymore and there was no way I was going to be able to sculpt and texture six characters at the expense of my time and energy. BUT then it hit me. FANS!!


I mean it looks like clip art until you look really close and see the facets and weird specularity issues, but HOT DAMN I think that's a win! I've always gravitated towards a more hyper realism style, and this shows how much progress I've made. I feel way more confident after seeing how these turned out. I'm also a little less stressed about my career, because I know I'll be able to (and be content to) work on 3D models for interior design and product renders if necessary. It's been instilled into us as 3D artists with lofty dreams that a lot of people don't leave college with a job lined up; which is the complete opposite of what RIT advertises with their co-op programs and industry connections. But I think I'm confident enough now that I'll be able to get a job in the short term while I try to work on a game art job.


I didn't get a lot of likes on my post on Instagram, which disappointed me more than I thought it would. It would be different if I wanted likes on my vacation photos and selfies, but I really want to build my brand more; Instagram likes exposes me to other artists and potential job opportunities. However, I really don't know if that's my main goal or I'm secretly seeking validation from both artists and non-artists.


Maybe it's both, but every day during quarantine and this summer, I'm working hard and developing my skills and growing more confident. I think it's time to get back to my Udemy courses though.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page