top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

Cool stuff I haven't been blogging because I'm human garbage

Check out this cool ass VW bus.

Man, I'm still so unfamiliar with 3D modeling and Maya.


Like, look at this:

I can't even fix the pinching geometry on my doors. :/ There's still so much to learn.


Anyway, I plan to create a whole scene for this. Something that has a Woodstock, hippie vibe to it.


So far I have a suitcase,


aaaaaaand a bucket.



I feel like I might end up making a lot of models to put off the moment I have to go into substance painter and start adding textures and colors. I wasn't really able to pay attention to substance painter introductions in lab, so it's a daunting task. I've pretty much kicked procrastination and learned to manage my time well, but learning a totally new complex program? OOF, I'm frightened.


I listen and watch a lot of art and game design related content on YouTube. A lot of advice given is for new artists and I already have formed good habits, but something that's stressed a lot is finishing projects. I had that problem when I was a younger artist, but as my mental health declined and narcolepsy worsened I was so uninspired that I didn't have any projects to even finish. There were the school projects that I just barely managed to throw together, but I only finished those because of my crippling fear of failure. Now that I'm working jobs that allow me time to do personal projects and finding a lot of inspiration from the media I consume, that problem is starting to crop back up. It's a good thing that I am so inspired that I want to start multiple projects, but if I don't control myself, I'll never finish any of them. Especially with UVing, texturing, and lighting and rendering. Ugh, I just want to do the fun stuff.


The procreate app on my iPad is filling up with unnamed canvases that I create whenever I have an idea that I want to jot down; some of them don't have more than a few lines or illegible sketches. (Please don't tell anyone about my horrible file organization skills.) But it means that I'm feeling creative enough to want to do a ton of projects, and I don't fear them even when I have no idea how to execute them in Maya. It feels... amazing. I'm remembering what it means to be an artist. I haven't felt that kind of passion where I have overflowing sketchbooks full of art to pull from since my narcolepsy and mental health issues started to develop, and that must have been four or five years ago. It's CRAZY how much RIT, my friends, and my passions have developed me back into feeling like real artist.


This is all so mushy. I probably shouldn't be pouring out emotional rants on a development blog, but I'm just so happy with where my career and art are going that I just want the whole world to know.


(I'm pretty sure this stuff will never be read by anyone, so I guess I want to write it down in my diary more than proclaim it to the world. Meh *shrugs*)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page