top of page
Writer's pictureAmanda DelloStritto

Breather

Okay, it's finally Thanksgiving and I have a little more time to create better blog posts again. Thankfully, I just have finals left, but those finals are going to be super long and tedious, so I'm not at the finish line of this semester yet.


The good news:

- I'm almost finished with my last immersion classes, signaling the end of all my non-major classes EVER! All that I have left now is my thesis and a Lighting and Rendering class (maybe I'll finally conquer my fears of rendering. . . no promises though. . .)

- I'll be up in the mountains skiing and working on my thesis for the entire month of December. I could really use some intensive work time for just my modeling, I'm starting to really burn out with the enormous amount of essays I've had to do.

- My thesis is *knock on wood* on track and we have plenty of time for polish, critiques, and filming. It's amazing what more than 14 weeks can do for a game!

- I have so many amazing opportunities lined up! None of them are confirmed, but I was contacted by a recruiter for a full time mobile game job, I have an interview for a Magic Spell Studios mobile game internship, a team making a league of legends style PC game is interested in working with me on their project, and I'll be submitting my thesis to the Magic Maker Program. Something good has to come from all that, right? RIGHT?


Am I learning more about myself as an artist? Maybe. I've definitely learned that being a game director is not in my foreseeable future, this is HARD!


Unfortunately, this also spells the end of my TA career at RIT. I honestly feel like crying just thinking about it. I've still got some issues with self-confidence that is exacerbated by giving unprompted feedback on other students' projects, but I think I've come a long way in my teaching and I really, REALLY love learning by teaching. I would not have the confidence and social ability if it weren't for being a TA, I'm extremely lucky everything lined up to give me that opportunity.


Hopefully I'll be able to start up my Substance Painter tutorials again, too!


I should probably start talking about graduation, as much as I'm dreading it. Covid hasn't given me a great last year of college so far, but I'm still able to interact with all my classmates through my Senior Forum class, so that's made it much less lonely. Covid has also made the job market simultaneously more accessible, and less secure. Working remotely is almost universal now, and it's allowing me to start applying to jobs and starting them sooner that I would have been able to pre-Covid, but the economy feels like it's in a constant state of flux and all of the court systems have started to back up heavily. I'm not sure what that means for moving, changing my address, changing my license, etc, but I know it's not going to be easy.


I look forward to entering the workforce full time, but I know I still have a long way to go in terms of self-confidence in myself as an artist and teammate. I get better everyday, but I will have to work extra hard to continue to build my confidence and become more self-assured. Five years ago I would have never imagined I would be so open and calm around strangers/coworkers/employer, so I know I'll be able to continue improving and make that final push to be the best person I can be.


But enough of that for now. Hey, check out this scaffolding!






1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page